About Us

Shelby County Master Gardeners meet on the second Friday of each month at 10 AM. Usually the meetings are held in the auditorium at the Shelby County Extension Office at 54 Kelly Ln, Columbiana, AL 35051. Call (205) 669-6763 for directions or more information. 

Click here for the SCMGA BYLAWS.

History of Shelby County Master Gardener Association 1995-2013
Bill Legg

In 1995 several other Alabama counties had already begun Master Gardener groups and our very own Nelson Wynn decided Shelby County needed to follow suit. He took flyers around to nurseries and other places gardeners would frequent. Our first class was held in August of that year.
Just as soon as these class members finished their courses and did their 40 hours of community service, the association was formed.

A class has been held every year with the exception of 1998. Those first years were a time of growing and adapting to our members needs. The first meetings were held in homes until we outgrew most living rooms. The idea of having a pot luck lunch following our meeting began and we hope it never goes out of style. We have all agreed that our members are some of the best cooks in the country. We have always been able to get good and interesting speakers for our monthly meetings. Our regular meeting date of the 2nd Friday at 10 AM has proved to be the best time for most folks. Through the years we have tried a night class and night meeting on special occasions. These have not proved satisfactory and are being discontinued. We continue to have plant/seed swaps and tour the yards and gardens of our people.

We always have several members attending the state convention as well as regional meetings. Some of our members have held positions on the state board. Many members are available for speaking engagements as well as teaching our new class members. The knowledge gained from this program has been shared with countless others through our volunteers.

SCMGA Officers and Chairpersons 2014
Susan Seng
Vice President
Beth Heerten
Deb Kattus
Jan Rogers
Diane McKinnon
Michele Hill
Membership/AMGA Advisory Council
Cathy Canant
MG Class Coordinator/AMGA VP
Jeanon Massein
Newsletter Editor
Heidee Vansant
Rita Forrest
Sunshine Committee
Contact Jan or Rita for changes.

SCMGA Past Presidents
Dolly Bacak (Class of 1995)
1996 - 1997
Colleen Cardin (Class of 1996)
Viv Swain (Class of 1995)
Lynn Andrews (Class of 1999)
Myra Healy (Class of 1999)
2000 - 2002
Bill Legg (Class of 1999)
2003 - 2005
Jeanon Massien (Class of 2004)
2006 - 2007
Joe Keeton (Class of 2006)
2008 - 2009
Teresa Neal (Class of 2003)
Regena Varvoutis (Class of 2008)
2010 - 2012

*died in office